Philothea
Life in the JVC

Happy Birthday to Me

August 01, 2003
Happy birthday dear Megan, happy birthday to me! I had a very happy birthday today. And how bizarre, one of my favorite diarists is exactly ten years older than me.

My birthday luck began the night before. I had called up the other Jesuit Volunteer from Rochester a few weeks ago to ask if she was driving to the big East Coast orientation, but she was flying, and I called the guy from Buffalo, but he never got back to me, so I finally just bought a bus ticket. It was only $40, but I got into Syracuse at 6:30 p.m. and left at 11:30 p.m., then got into Harrisburg, PA at 5:30 a.m. and left at 11:30. So I had 11 hours of waiting at the bus station. But at 11 last night, the guy from Buffalo finally called back and said he could give me a ride. Then it rained a hard rain all night. I love the sound of rain when I'm falling asleep, so I took it as a personal shout-out.

My father has been at some fort for Reserves since Wednesday, so we decided to have a triple birthday celebration for me and my two August brothers when he got back. So Mom said I could spend all day with James. He had heard me talk about the chocolate withdrawal I was going to go through when I went to Baltimore, so for my birthday he made me caramels dipped in chocolate and peanut butter fudge. Mmm. Then we went to the Dinosaur Barbecue and had MEAT! We had a two person meal with chicken smothered in cheese, steak, and ribs. We walked around Rochester, and it was lovely.

11:34 p.m.
prev :: next