Philothea
Life in the JVC

A very merry half-birthday to me

February 01, 2005
Today is my half-birthday! I think I haven't celebrated that since I was 8 (and a HALF). But my housemates wanted to celbrate mine and Barb's birthday when we were still here. Barb made me a dreamcatcher, and the other girls gave me CANDY. So my sweet-tooth is set. I gave Barb coconut incense to remind her of Hawaii. She student-taught there and wants to go back someday.

Friday we went bowling again with Jon in Harlem, and we went to the adjoining bar afterwards. We met our first rodeo cowboy! He was bowling too, but after a while he just sat down and watched us. I swear every guy in the bar was watching us. Donna says that we're going to have an inflated sense of our worth when we leave here, because pretty much every guy here wants to be with us and tells us we're so beautiful. But the women hate us, which is understandable. I don't think we have one female friend here who's not a co-worker. But that's okay. I get enough female companionship from my housemates.

Donna and Maureen are back to talking about coming for a second year, and Barb says she is thinking about it too. I was getting a little sad thinking about leaving them. Some of the 4th graders keep asking me if I'm going to be here next year. I'm going to miss them terribly, but I couldn't do that to Matthew again. Maybe someday I'll be able to move back to Montana. It's the first state I've really loved. If only it wasn't so darn far away from the people I love.

10:21 p.m.
prev :: next