Philothea
Life in the JVC

More homework!

2002-09-14

I went to Wiggin St. elementary school for the first time yesterday. I'm volunteering with the 5th grade. The teacher was making a list of the pluses and minuses of the week. One kid complained that people were hogging the computers and she couldn't get her story written. She suggested that they be able to bring their stories home so they could work on it at home.

"Well, that sounds okay, but I don't want to give you guys too much homework, especially over the weekend."

"I don't do anything on the weekend anyway," one girl said.

"We want more homework, like the high school kids. They get stacks of homework. We're big kids now too!" said a boy.

Everyone agreed and clamored for more homework. I was sitting there trying not to crack up, and the teacher looked at me out of the corner of her eye, and you could tell she knew I wanted to laugh.

11:17 a.m.
prev :: next