Philothea
Life in the JVC

Great Falls

October 24, 2004

I don't know how I'm going to get through this week, now that I have five whole days to get through. Last week I was at school for two and a half days, and then we went to the Catholic educators conference in Great Falls. The Falls are no longer great, however, as they've been dammed up to provide electricity.

The most exciting thing about the conference to us JVs was the presence of stores. Our hotel was right next to Goodwill, and I got some more sweaters to get me through the winter, as it already snowed twice last week. We found some reason to go to the mall three times when we were there. It was tough though, since we still only had our $80 stipend. At the mall, I knew I could spend all of my month's salary in any of the stores. So maybe its best that I live somewhere where there are no temptations.

Thursday night there was a teacher social at one of the bars downtown. The bishop was there in his Yankees jacket, pretty downcast. I don't want to talk about it right now. I'm rooting for the Cardinals to win, of course, since they're Michelle's team and she got married this weekend. But it was lame, so we ditched it quickly and went out searching for a place we could dance.

My house-mates and I went to a country bar first that had a band, but it was a slow night. Two guys from the Air Force base came in and started some awful pickup lines on us. We asked them if they knew any places where we could dance, and they told us of one, but quickly said that it be nicer to stay here. But we said we wanted to go, so they showed us the way, but when we got in, they couldn't come because they were under 21! That was easier than expected to get rid of them. This place was much better, because there was dancing, pool, and karaoke. While Barb and I were waiting to go on for karaoke, the server came over to us and told us the three men sitting behind us wanted to buy us drinks.

"I don't know if this happens to you guys, but I've never had guys offer to buy me drinks in Chicago," Barb said.

I said it had never happened to me either. There was a pause, then Donna said "It happens to me all the time." She went on to say it must be because she would be with a group of cheerleaders all the time, but she's the only one here now, and we're reaping the benefits of living with a gorgeous woman.

We got to go to the Lewis and Clark interpretive center. I am just amazed at the things the Corps of Discovery had to do. Make boats, pull them around the falls, hunt for their food every day, and then build themselves a fort when it was wintertime. Then on Friday Donna and I went to the C. M. Russell museum. We dropped Maureen and Barb off at the mall because we weren't sure how big the museum was going to be, but it was huge! I love his work, and its even more amazing because he was a self-taught cowboy. The museum is right next to his house and studio, so I could see it all.

I love Montana, I really do. I'm starting to see a problem with all my wanderlust. I want to live everywhere, but then when I leave I miss it. I know I'm going to miss Montana fiercely next year, and I miss Gambier, Baltimore, and New York. I want to settle down eventually, but I'm afraid I'll never be content in one place, even though I long to have a hometown too.

4:51 p.m.
prev :: next