Philothea
Life in the JVC

GRE

January 09, 2005

I got my GRE scores in the mail! They told me the unofficial scores at the test site, but I refused to believe the math score until I got hard proof. I got a 730 (out of 800) on the verbal, and a 770 on the math. On the analytical writing I only got a 4, which is average, but that's my weakest area. I'm glad that's over. I was so worried when I was preparing for the GRE that I would bomb the quantitative section, since I haven't had any math courses since high school. And yet I got a higher score in that than in the verbal section, and I was an English major. The reason I didn't believe my math score at first was when I took the exam, the first section was quantitative, and the problems were so hard, that I had 10 questions with only 5 minutes left at the end, so I was just randomly guessing. But then the third section I had was also quantitative, so I hoped that the first one was that experimental section they sometimes have that doesn't count. But this one was so easy, I didn't believe that it could be the real section either.

My brother Reagan had his first college meet on Friday, and he won the high jump! I'm happy he's doing so well. Its crazy having a Division I athlete in my family, even in an event that not many people care about. We were talking about it on our family Yahoo Group, and my grandpa asked Dad if he had his desk job with the army. Grandpa said if they tried to deploy him elsewhere, to hide under the desk.

We went to Harlem on Friday, and its a nice little town. It even has a one-screen movie theater. When we were at the grocery store, one of the workers there recognized Donna from the one time she had been there before at Thanksgiving. He was basically our personal shopper, running around the store to find the stuff we couldn't. Then he was bagging our groceries, the other cashier said "Aren't you supposed to be in the dairy section right now?"

"Shut UP, Shane," he said, blushing. Then he loaded our groceries in the car and begged us to call him. "If you're ever bored, call me. I'm bored too, and I'll show you around," he said. We probably will. Rob is gone until spring, and we need someone to hang out with our own age. Its funny how everyone always remembers Donna. There's not many new people here, so everyone remembers a beautiful blonde. I really noticed at the basketball game how I could pick her out of the crowd in the stands. We were playing another Indian team from Ft. Peck, so she was the only blonde there. We won on both Friday and Saturday. Tons of people were there, including lots of our students. The boys' team won states two years ago. That year all the divisions in Montana were won by Indian teams, so that was a big Native Pride moment. Afterward, we were driving Kathy's son home. He's 26 and lives in Utah now, but he was back to visit his son. He said that of the 32 people in his graduating class, 5 are dead, 6 are in jail, and the rest have kids. So that pretty much answers our question if there are any guys our age without kids or wives.

The snow has revealed the tracks of a rabbit that must live in our yard. I saw him last night dash under our house. Still in Baltimore mode, I assumed it must be a large rat, but then I realized it was a rabbit. At church today I saw Liz with her new baby. She was born on Christmas Eve, and was so little and cute. Its hard to believe that Emerald was ever that small. Of course, she wasn't, since she was 10 lbs. at birth, but still smaller than now. I was looking at a picture of me with her as a baby, and what really shocked me was how young I looked. I didn't think I had changed that much from 20 to 23 and a half.

6:57 p.m.
prev :: next