Philothea
Life in the JVC

Garlic tea

December 04, 2003
Yesterday I was working with Miss Gloria, who is one of the coolest people ever. She's from Trinidad and is I don't know how old, but she's always laughing and making everybody feel great. Vince, the medical advocate, thinks she is an angel. So one of our residents was coughing. She offered to get her some garlic tea, but she declined. Miss Gloria swears by it. She says she never gets sick because she drinks it. I asked her how she made it, thinking it was some arcane combination of herbs with a little garlic powder thrown it. No. "I put a clove of garlic in a cup and then pour hot water over it, child." No wonder the germs stay away. I think everything would. But I had to try it. Miss Gloria said to leave it to cool so that the garlic taste wasn't quite so overwhelming. I drank it down, and it was powerful strong stuff, but my nose isn't stuffed anymore.

I'm happy to be back in Baltimore. Jon and Emily put my bookcase together when I was away, which was cool. And it's nice to not have a two-year-old roommate anymore. I think for my week off in January I'll go visit my grandparents in Florida. That way it will be a relaxing vacation. This one I felt like lying catatonic in bed for three days afterwards.

12:42 p.m.
prev :: next