Philothea
Life in the JVC

My freshmen list

May 14, 2003
James, Amy and I walked down to Quarry Chapel today. It was a good walk. They�ve done a lot of restoration since last year. Then we went to the Red Door and put together the remainder of our tabs and found we had enough for one frappe with three straws.

I found a list in my old diary from the summer before I started Kenyon of things I wanted to accomplish. I thought I�d print it here, with comments.

-get a 4.0 in all classes. Ha. Ha ha ha.

-find my true love Well I don�t know about that, but out of the six guys I really liked here, three liked me back and two are good friends. That�s not a bad percentage at all.

-exercise No, but I did walk a lot.

-get up early for above, etc. I am still so bad at getting up in the morning.

-make lots of friends, and be liked by everyone on campus. I have made a few enemies, but I have made many good friends here.

-write regularly in my journal, and for publication That was my sixth diary, and I�m now on my 18th, so I think I can say I kept up writing in my journal. I never even submitted any stories to the literary magazines.

-dazzle professors with my brilliance My, I was a modest little freshman, wasn�t I? Before this year I think I impressed a few professors. It is a nice feeling to talk to a professor and have him say, �Why haven�t you been in any of my classes?� in a way that suggests that he�d love to have you in them.

-become a leader I never knew that was a goal. I�ve been an RA and the president of Newman Club, so that�s covered.

-be a lead in a play I gave that one up quickly. I never even did crew.

-do my knee exercises faithfully I sprained my knee senior year, but I haven�t kept up with the exercises. It�s starting to hurt when I kneel again.

-do my homework with time to spare and early. Ha. Ha ha ha.

-write regularly to friends I do write regularly, just not to Victor people anymore.

-pray regularly I do at least once a day, but I�d like to do more.

-watch four hours of TV or less a week This was never a problem, even though I used to watch so much at home. There�s no TV in the rooms, so I usually forgot it existed.

-read all those books I own that I haven�t yet read See, here�s the thing. I keep intending not to buy any books until I�ve read all the ones I already have, but then I see ones that are so cheap, so I get behind again.

-not get pregnant I am proud to say that I have had 21 years of not being pregnant, which must be a record in my family.

-e-mail I guess I meant learn how to do it, because I never had an e-mail address until I got to Kenyon.

-make my parents proud Aw, I�m sure they�re proud of me. I�m not pregnant, after all.

-make Liam realize the value of a liberal arts education I don�t know if I did. He�s very arrogant about being a math major.

-keep track of �what�s happening� at VCS I did when my brothers were there, but now I don�t know anyone in high school.

-not go crazy Nope, I went crazy a few times.

-be known to everyone at Kenyon It�s a freaking village. Too many people know me.

-always know the right thing to say Ah, if only. I�ve gotten better at knowing when not to say anything, but I wish I did always know what to say.

-don�t procrastinate I�ve become worse. At least I always used to turn in my papers on time, even if I didn�t start them until I was on the bus. Of course, they�ve gotten longer.

-not spend money Another thing I�ve become worse at. It�s being around all these people who have money to burn.

-get my laundry done in a timely manner I always make sure to at least have clean underwear. Of course, I�ve also bought enough so I only have to do laundry every three weeks.

-finish �The Fairy Princess� The Fairy Princess was a serial I was writing for my friend Angela. I used to write serials and stories all the time for my friends. I don�t even know where it is now.

There you have it.

11:47 p.m.
prev :: next