Philothea
Life in the JVC

Freakish warm weather

January 27, 2005
While the East Coast was being hit with a big snowstorm, in Montana the weather has been freakishly warm. We're an independant people and don't believe in following these "weather patterns" others do.

Yesterday was Jon's day off from work, so he came down Mission Canyon to go hiking with me and Barb. Jon's cool. I know he must think he's lead the dullest life, but to me, growing up on a farm in Montana sounds very exotic. He says he's giving Harlem six more months before he's leaving. And that's probably right-it doesn't offer much excitement for a young person. I walked across the natural bridge again for the second time. After I did it in September I got scared every time I attempted it. Then we walked on top of the canyon and found a cool little hollow on a rock outcropping, big enough for two people to camp out in. I'd be a little nervous about the gap in the rock, though. I don't think I could fall out of it at night, but it's a might long fall to the bottom.

I've been trying to enjoy the weather as much as possible. The other day I walked to the Martin's Grocery because I was craving some snack food, and I saw a lot of my students out playing, as well as a whole gaggle of preschoolers. I gave out some of my Cheetos to Tough and his friends, and as I was leaving them, I saw him speak urgently to them. Then they all turned around and said "Thank you Ms. Rafferty!" They're so cute.

4:48 p.m.
prev :: next