Philothea
Life in the JVC

The Demon Barber of Fleet. Street.

March 06, 2004
On Wednesday the Jesuits had two extra tickets to see Sweeney Todd, so Emily and I got to go with them. It was at CenterStage, which is the original site of Loyola College. Father Willy showed me the Chapel Bar, which still has the altar and stained glass windows from when it was the college chapel. This old lady came in and loudly said "Hmph, provincial." We were the only other ones in the bar.

"I bet this paneling is plastic, too," she said.

"Oh no, madam, I assure you it's not," Fr. Willy said. But she rapped her fist on the wood and said firmly "Plastic," then left.

I love musicals. I can't believe we've managed to score free tickets twice. It was a little awkward when they were singing "A Little Priest", about making a priest into a meat-pie, when I was sitting in between two priests. Fr. Willy said he was going to elbow me if I laughed at the song again. But he loves me, because when he asked me to guess his age at dinner a few months ago, I said 60 when really he's 80. I really thought he was around 65, but I always round down just to be safe. But all the Jesuits look younger than they really are.

Yesterday one of the most awesome people in the world came to visit. Kate, a JV from Raleigh. She's also one of Beth's childhood friends and went to college with her. Matthew made our house crab cakes and took us all to the Baltimore Aquarium. I heard it was the best aquarium in the country, but I was thinking it was going to be just "a bunch of fish". But it was awesome! We literally had our noses pressed up against the glass at times. First we went to the dolphin show. I realized that I had never seen a dolphin in real life before. Then Matthew and I decided to start at the fifth floor and work our way down. Everyone else started at the first floor and we only saw them in passing.

I felt a little guilty about monopolizing Matthew's time, but at the same time it was just what I wanted. I really dig him. I've been trying to figure out if he likes me, too. He has said before that he wished I was his sister. So maybe he just respects and admires me. If I just wanted to be his friend, that would be great, but as it is, that would be horrible. I would almost prefer that he just thought I was hot. I can work with lust.

But then Kate said it was way too soon for me to get involved with anybody, since I've only been single for a month. I can see the logic in that, but at the same time, I don't. After all, if I'm single, I should be free to date anyone I want. It would be kind of heartless if I immediately jumped to the next guy, but what time does "immediate" cover, exactly. And I broke up with James. I really haven't been too broken up about it because I did all of my soul-searching and being sad that we weren't working out in the two months before we broke up. So okay, maybe one more month, just to be on the safe side that I'm not just rebounding.

6:09 p.m.
prev :: next