Philothea
Life in the JVC

First days of school

2002-08-27
I have attended three out of my four classes now.My goals this year are 1)To go to every class, 2) pass my senior comps, and 3) learn how to dunk a basketball.

I was two minutes late for my first class on Monday, and it meets at 2:10, so I couldn't even plead sleeping in. It's Advanced Latin, and there's only one other person in the class, the "other" senior major. The new guy, Serfass, is teaching it, and I wanted to take advanced latin with him even though I'm a horrible latin student because we're reading history, which I love, and I wanted to see what latin would be like with a different teacher, since I've had the same professor for the last two years. We also sort of had a battle over who to hire last year and I supported him, so I wanted to take his class since I suspect a few other people aren't taking it because they wanted the other guy. Serfass seems great so far. He doesn't really look like Elmo, it's just that the red beard and bowtie remind me of the cover of my sister's Get dressed with Elmo. We're reading the first book of Tacitus and Livy, and pretty much every historian in translation. I'm very scared, but it's the only class I have that day, and it only meets twice a week, so I hope I'll be able to keep up.

Today, I first had The Gilded Age with Judy Smith. I think I'm going to love it. There are a bunch of my friends in that class, and I love that era. I read The Portrait of a Lady for fun this summer before I knew I was going to add this class, but that's probably a good thing, since we have so many meaty novels to read. Smith is a great professor. I've never had her before, but she was very interesting and had a good voice tone. Hey, it's my senior year, I'm getting very picky about my classes.

This afternoon, I had my first Abnormal Psychology class. I was worried that I would have to write a research paper or do lots of statistical stuff since this is my first psychology class since freshman year, but it's all tests and essays. There are lots of local celebrities in that class, too. Levine seems very political and liberal, but also considerate of other's opinions, which I don't run into as often as I should. So that class will be less painful than I had feared. My Mom took abnormal psych when she got her associate's degree a few years ago, and she really wanted me to take it.

So everything is still in the honeymoon phase right now with classes. I have to translate 45 lines of Peter's Historicorum Romanorum Reliquiae tonight, "The hardest Latin you'll have all semester," Serfass cheerfully said. Dive right in.

8:02 p.m.
prev :: next