Philothea
Life in the JVC

First day of working alone

September 03, 2003
Well, I spent a long time finding a template I like, so I hope (yes Mr. Lentz, I know I shouldn't use "hopefully" here) that I'll like it for a while.

James was very embarrassed yesterday because he sent me an e-mail he meant to send his mother. I told him that was much better than the other way around.

Community is going a bit roughly right now. There's an issue with three of my housemates feeling that another one isn't being "present to the community" enough, and I'm having a lot of problems with Chris. Oh, I am so frustrated with him, but I don't even want to get into all the ways I am. We're just very different people, and at the opposite end of almost every spectrum, from political to introvert-extrovert, that sometimes I feel like we'll never be able to reach an understanding. But at the same time he is a nice guy and I respect him a lot. We have a community night tonight with our support people, so maybe we can get some of these issues hashed out. Ah, the honeymoon is over, though.

I had my first solo day of work at the Don Miller House yesterday, and the only thing I messed up was I forgot to give one man his 2 o'clock pills, but my boss reminded me at 2:40, and as long as you give them within the hour it's okay.

Vince, the medical advocate for the house, told me a story about one of my residents. He was in the hospital for six weeks earlier in the year because he was having horrible headaches, and they had him on every narcotic imaginable, and spinal taps for meningitis, but he just wasn't getting any better. Finally someone noticed that he hadn't been wearing his glasses. So he spent all that time in the hospital because he didn't like how he looked in glasses.

5:03 p.m.
prev :: next