Philothea
Life in the JVC

Ex-boyfriends

May 15, 2003
I just found out that Roger is going to be at my graduation. Since James the Lesser is working Commencement and Robbie is driving down, all my ex-boyfriends are going to be there. It�s not fair; none of them are seniors. Robbie is the only one I wanted there. Why couldn�t Roger have stayed in France forever? I liked having an ocean between us.

My family is on the road right now. I�m so stressed about them coming, even though I�m the one that wanted them to come on Thursday. I really wanted to see my sister as soon as I could. They spent so much money on the rooms and the meals that it made me feel sick inside. My Uncle Raymond couldn�t come because they fired a few cops in his precinct and so they cancelled all vacation time for the remaining police officers. And only one brother can make it, the other three have lame excuses like exams and the prom. But I still have eight people coming. As long as my Mom doesn�t go crazy like she did when I graduated from high school we should be fine. And I think she�ll be less stressed because the college is taking care of a lot of things.

I picked up my cap and gown today. They said we could buy the college hood for $75 if we wanted. Yeah, right. That�s almost as bad as buying a class ring. I bought a necklace with the Kenyon shield this year for $11 and that�s enough memorabilia for me. The senior majors met with the Classics department at the Red Door yesterday. We can fit around a table. We rock. They asked us what we liked about our Kenyon education and what we didn�t, both for the Classics and in general. The first thing I said was �Just because Graham Gund offers you a statue, doesn�t mean you have to take it.� It�s obvious that Gund really loves the college, and he�s one of the few fabulously wealthy alumni we have, but I wish he had better taste.

I really need to start packing.

1:15 p.m.
prev :: next