Philothea
Life in the JVC

Eagle Scout

May 27, 2003

Trevor's Eagle Scout luncheon turned out quite well. I'm so proud of my brother. His Eagle scout project was to put in a brick path and plant new benches and bushes around the Grotto of Mary at our church. You only have to do 40 hours of work for your Eagle project, but his ended up being 150 hours, and a lot of that backbreaking labor. He earned 26 badges, the same as Captain Archer of the Enterprise, as he pointed out. The Boy Scouts are a very square organization, but they know it and they don't care.

I met a girl who became Trevor's friend when she was a freshmen and he was a senior, but she's in Masterminds so I have an instant connection. I can still talk to Victor kids who are in AP classes with my old teachers. I should go see Mr. Olson. Apparently he still talks about me. He has an "honor roll" in his class of the students who got a 100 on the Regents history exam (it's easy to pass but hard to get 100 on it), and going over the stellar achievements of those on the list, and when he got to me he said "Well, Miss Rafferty is a Classics major, so I'll pass over her."

5:25 p.m.
prev :: next