Philothea
Life in the JVC

Dates

April 05, 2004
Well, I had a good weekend. We found two free movies. The Rotunda was having an Easter family day Saturday morning and showing Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory for free, and then Sunday a Lutheran church was showing the silent version of Ben-Hur, with an organist accompaniment. It was just amazing. I've seen a few Charlie Chaplin silents before, but never a two hour long epic.

So, my date went well. Beth had a date on Saturday too, so we were quite unbearable. Everyone else had gone out, so we could go crazy together in peace. After Beth came back from the practice MCAT, we were advising each other on what to wear and rifling through the other's closet, and just generally being silly.

Matthew asked me to come to his apartment (he lives a block away), which I thought was a little odd, because he's so old-fashioned and formal about everything else, so why not come pick me up? But then I realized that he probably didn't want to face my community. Good decision, because Jon came home before Dave came to pick Beth up, and grilled him in the manner of a 1950's father, and then told him to have her back by eight.

I was so nervous. Beth tried to calm me down. "Now, remember, you like him and he likes you, you've hung out with him tons of times before. You're going to have a good time. And be good."

"I make no promises," I said.

I really haven't been out on a first date since Bob Ryan asked me to the Sophomore Semi-Formal when I was 15. It's just not how things work in college. We went to an Afghani restaurant for dinner. I've never had it before, but I asked my Dad what he liked when he was in Afghanistan, and he was excited that I was going there. I was so tongue-tied. Matthew would be asking me questions, and I could answer them, but form a coherent sentence on my own? Nope. Then we went to see Chess, but one of the actors was sick, so they did in concert-style. It was more confusing that way, since they were only singing the songs, but it meant it was shorter, which I was glad about, since I didn't want to go straight home. It was better when we were alone, because I do like talking to him a lot, but it's better when we're alone without other distractions.

So, I like him a lot, he's so perfect, and we're going to go out some more. And everything is good. I got back at 11:30, and Beth came home even later from her date, so we both had a good time.

2:30 p.m.
prev :: next