Philothea
Life in the JVC

Colts

May 07, 2005
I have the best boyfriend in the world. He stayed in my second bedroom when he was here. Since we have nine bedrooms and four people, I decided to take over two rooms. Anyway, he hid post-it notes saying "I love you" all over the room. I thought I found them all that week, but yesterday I was pulling out an envelope from my box and found another.

I went for a walk in the canyon today with Donna, and we saw Isaiah with his grandpa digging fencepost holes. He said they had new colts over the ridge, so I finally got to see what's over that hill. Short answer: nothing, except for the horses. The colts were really cute, especially the little black one with a star over his face. He was just born two days ago and hasn't really figured out how to get his legs to go the way he wants them to go yet.

But when Randy was rounding up the horses the black mare and colt ran over the hill to the front pasture, where there were two geldings, male horses who have been castrated. One of them was "proud-cut", which they didn't know until that day. It means that even though the horse is impotent, he still thinks he's a stallion. And the thing that stallions do with colts not their own is try to kill it, so the mother will come into heat again and they can father a colt on her. So the proud-cut gelding ran at the black colt and the colt ran into a barbed wire fence. We don't know if he's going to make it. The mother wouldn't let Randy come near him. I hope he's all right. I know its not my fault, but it wouldn't have happened if we hadn't been there.

6:07 p.m.
prev :: next