Philothea
Life in the JVC

Christmas stuff

December 26, 2002
All in all, my Christmas was very jolly. It was very very white too. We were dumped with snow, which was good, because only a spit of snow was on the ground when I went to bed. Uncle Jim had to stay overnight because of the snow. We had less presents than usual, but that was a good thing. With 9 people (and baby makes 10), everyone getting presents for everybody else made it a slog to get through all the gifts, especially since we open presents one at a time, from youngest to oldest. This year Mom had everyone write a wish list and put it in a hat, and then you only bought presents for the one you got, with a $50 price limit. I got Brian, who asked for video games and "surprise me". The only thing I ever see him do is play video games, so I had Reagan help me get a Gameboy game for him and then I bought a collection of Atari games for the Playstation, since he was too little to remember when we had an Atari. It didn't have Qbert on it, bitter luck.

I got a new watch and money, so maybe I'll be able to pay my tuition bill now. Emerald got a baby stroller and she didn't want to open anything else. Dad brought Mom a beautiful stoneware tea set from Afghanistan. The tea cups are small like in Asia. She loves it, but she's afraid she'll break it, which doesn't seem very likely. Then I finished off the night by reading A Christmas Carol. I think life would be worth living just to read authors like Dickens and Rossetti.

I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year. I will live in the Past, the Present, and the Future. The Spirits of all Three shall strive within me. I will not shut out the lessons they teach.
-A Christmas Carol

8:40 p.m.
prev :: next