Philothea
Life in the JVC

Brian Rose

2002-09-17

So we had the little Classics dinner before the lecture at the Parish house. Allie, Brian and I sat on the porch like the rockstars we are and watched over the proceedings during the shmoozing before dinner. We were the only majors there. Yeah, three out of five. And Brian Rose complimented Kenyon on how healthy the Classics department is here. He's from the University of Cincinnati, which really does have a very healthy Classics department, because they have a personal endowment of millions of dollars and a departmental library. Weber asked him how they chose what books to buy for the library, and Rose said, "Oh, we buy them all." I could see that my professors were very jealous.

Higley was almost full. Brian Rose is the head of excavations at Troy, and Troy is sexy. I sat with a bunch of Mt. Vernon high school kids who were getting extra credit from their Latin class for being there. I want to go to Troy! There's so many cool things there, it's hard to decide when to stop digging. Rose is always having to pull tourists from the walls because they want to be like Achilles.

Then today he talked about art in the Julio-Claudian period, which is not as sexy, but still fun. I love hanging out with classicists. I think I'd love it just for how they use the English language.

2:46 p.m.
prev :: next