Philothea
Life in the JVC

My haul of books

November 02, 2003
I got a very good haul at The Book Thing today.

-Entertainment Weekly's "It List 2003" issue

Notes from the Closet, Stories of Women's relationships from the 1930s-1990s

The Cautious Bachelor, by Sarel Eimerl. "The amorous adventures of an unrepentant wolf." copyright 1958.

A Catechism for Non-Catholics

One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich, by Alexander Solzhenitsyn
-American Academy of Rome:Annual Exhibition, School of Fine Arts, 1991.

Earthmen & Strangers, and Beyond Control, both edited by Robert Silverberg

Caviar, by Theodore Sturgeon. Man, I've never met a science-fiction anthology I didn't like.

Dandelion Wine, by Ray Bradbury

The Last Gentleman, and The Thanatos Syndrome, by Walker Percy

The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, July 1990

First Year Latin and Latin for Americans, Books One and Two

A collection of three novels by George MacDonald At the Back of the North Wind, The Princess and the Goblin, The Princess and Curdie I'm really excited to get this book. It's hardcover too, in great condition.

The Tough Winter, by Robert Lawson

Gregg Shorthand. I've always wanted to know shorthand. My grandmother is a secretary so she has pads of it around from taking the minutes of town council meetings. We'll see if I ever actually learn it.

The Right to be Different:Deviance and Enforced Therapy, by Nicholas N. Kittrie.

Encyclopedia of Flags

A laminated map of Alabama

I haven't been there in three weeks, so there were lots of new stuff. That's the thing about the free bookstore, I feel like I have to get it right now if I want it, because it probably won't be there the next time I go. I have today, Monday and Tuesday off, so I'm taking a reading holiday. I don't know if I've just been working too hard, or because this is the first time I've had a 40 workweek outside of summer, but I've just been dragging lately, and hating going to work. Not that I mind once I'm there usually, but I never know what the day may bring at work. And it's not like college where I could not go to classes for a week and no one would really care unless I was foolish enough to tell my Mom.

Last night at midnight Emily and I lit the jack-o-lanterns and brought all the candles in the house outside to read stories by Poe. Boy, reading him out loud made me realize how thick he is with the ten dollar words. He never uses "clothes" when "habiliments" can take its place. And he must have 20 synonyms for black and red. It was scary, not just because we were reading Poe, but also because we were two young women out on our front porch in the middle of the night. But we're going to do it again tonight.

4:09 p.m.
prev :: next