Philothea
Life in the JVC

Bedrooms

December 30, 2002
Yesterday I moved all my stuff upstairs and Trevor moved his stuff downstairs. I'm sharing a bedroom with Aunt Maria. I told dad that it was time to cancel the sitcom. C'mon...first they have a baby when the older kids start going off to college, and now the wacky aunt is coming to live with us. I think it's time to record...

The History of Bedrooms in my House

The Pink Room- This was my room when we moved here when I was 10. The next year, when I was at camp, my mother painted the room pink and put white stencils of frilly bows around the top. My curtains were pink and my comforter was pink. The air was pink in that room. When I went to college, Mom put Reagan in there because he and Brian were fighting too much. But he had to leave when I came home on break. The next year, he complained about living in a pink room and it was painted over and I packed all my stuff into green bins and put them in the crawlspace in the cellar. Four bins of books and four of other stuff.

The Green Room- This was Liam and Trevor's room at first. It has a green carpet. Trevor moved out when they were teenagers and starting fighting too much (see a pattern?). Reagan slept there when I was home from college. then when he got ultimate control over the (once) Pink Room, I lived there with Liam the summer after my sophomore year. That didn't work out too well. I like Liam, but living with my brother meant I couldn't get dressed in my own room. Then this summer Trevor moved back in with Liam. Now me and Maria are living there. This summer it will be turned into Emerald's room, and if I come home after graduation I'll live there too.

Brian's Room- Brian and Reagan lived here at first. Now it's just Brian's room. Not too interesting.

The Master Bedroom- Mom and Dad's room. They also have the only working shower. When Emerald was born they put the crib in there.

The Dining Room-This was the dining room, but I don't think we've ever used it as such. A year after we moved here, two of my uncles were at loose ends in their life, so we invited them to live with us. We put up sliding wood doors that don't block any of the sound. After Matt and Jim got an apartment, it was the office. Then when Trevor moved out of the Green Room, it was still the office, but he got half for a bed and a bookshelf (it's pretty small). This summer, I annoyed my family by sceaming in pain at night with my cyst, so they moved me downstairs where they couldn't hear me anymore. It's the only room that still has wallpaper, a faded flowery Victorian style and dark brown curtains. I was convinced that it was the dying person room. But I got better after surgery. Now Mom plans to put the college boys there when they come home.

Whew! That's a lot of moving around. The only people to stay in the same place were Brian and the parents. As long as I have a bed I think I'm doing okay, though I do miss having my old room, and now its hard to get to my books.

9:42 p.m.
prev :: next