Philothea
Life in the JVC

Beach house weekend

April 26, 2004
This was an awesome, awesome weekend. 10 years ago Emily's boss decided to buy a vacation home as a good property investment, and to give the people at his agency the chance to vacation at a beach home, which would usually be out of range for people who work at a non-profit. Emily's brother and sister came, as well as her co-worker Maria, her roommate Elana, and Elana's boyfriend.

Maria accidentally switched off the circuit breaker and plunged us all into darkness when we first arrived. Emily knocked on doors until she found an old man wearing a hat to come over and look at it. "Old men in hats know how to fix everything," she explained, and he did fix it, so maybe her theory is correct.

We spent all of Saturday at the beach. Emily, Elana, and I went in the water, and it was so cold we were screaming and I couldn't feel my legs after a few minutes. But it was one of the most cathartic experiences I've ever had. And the sand was warm, at least, so then we buried ourselves in it. Which of course led to us having to run in the water again to rinse off, and also getting sand in very personal areas. Then we played miniature golf on a pirate-themed course. They even had a huge ship that held the 11th and 12th holes. Everyone put on sunscreen, and everyone missed a few spots. Emily is from now on banned and otherwise prohibited from being my sunscreen putter-onner, because she missed two huge swathes of my back. At least I wasn't Elana, who forgot the back of her legs so it hurt to walk.

It was far too short, and now I have only one day off until next Friday (shift work SUCKS). But it was worth it. I wish I could go with Emily to her work retreat at Cape May next month, but we have a new assistant manager who won't allow us to request weekends off anymore. It really sucks. I made her give me this weekend off, but I don't think I could fight her again.

And I missed Matthew this weekend, but it didn't interfere with my enjoyment of the beach and house. I'm glad. It really isn't fun to be pining away for somebody every minute of the day I'm not with him. Especially when he lives a block away, its a little pathetic.

4:57 p.m.
prev :: next