Philothea
Life in the JVC

Beautiful things

December 29, 2002
I like having bachelor uncles in the area, because they give great gifts and it's just nice to have Uncle Matt and Jim come over and play games with us. But even better is a single aunt, and my Aunt Maria came to live with us for six months when she goes back to school. She's more like a big sister than an aunt, because she's only ten years older than me. She brought me all her old jewelry too. I love hand me downs.

I went to the Degas exhibit at the Memorial Art Gallery with James yesterday. A nice thing about having a boyfriend in the city is now I have an excuse to go there. He's two blocks from a Barnes & Noble too. I was frustrated by all the people at the exhibit. They had audio guides and lots of information on the wall about Degas. So everyone had the black sticks up to their ear and they were crowded around the paragraphs. I was thinking, "Little Dancer" is right in front of you and you're reading about it! I love learning about the backstory, but there's a time and a place.

Then I saw the first half of the extended version of The Fellowship of the Rings and I went to mass with James and his family. I like his Mom and sister. It's a much smaller family than mine. It was weird, Maggie and her Mom went to a horse riding lesson in the morning and then there was nobody else in the house. I remember when I was in 8th grade I got home 15 minutes before my brothers, and it thought it was the best thing ever, 15 minutes of solitude. Maggie has the kind of hair I've always wanted, long and dark and thick. Of course she hates it. My aunt was telling me that I didn't appreciate my natural blonde highlights when people pay $400 to get hair that looks like mine. But I don't want to be blonde! My hair has got lighter every year. But when I look at hair dyes, they have every possible shade, so it seems pointless to dye it when other people are dying their hair my shade.

11:49 a.m.
prev :: next