Philothea
Life in the JVC

Ash Wednesday

March 05, 2003
I remember two years ago Ann and I were complaining about fasting on Ash Wednesday to everybody and how we were so hungry. Then we went to mass and heard this read. We almost cracked up, it was so obvious we were the hypocrites in the story. I've read the Lectionary almost every day since January, so it's not a Lenten thing, but a very nice site. The Lectionary for Mass goes through the Bible every three years, so it's an easy way to do a little reading every day. I hope that this Lent can be a true season of renewal and penitence. In his homily Father George said that if we got to Easter only thinking, "Good, I made it through my sacrifice," we are missing the point. Father George is retiring after this year and we're very fortunate to be getting a new priest to replace him, but I'm going to miss him. He baptized my little sister and saw us all through first communion and confirmation. For the last 10 years he's been "my" priest, and now he's going. Everyone in the parish is fond of him, but I hope we'll be able to welcome the new priest into our hearts.
11:59 p.m.
prev :: next