Philothea
Life in the JVC

Annapolis

November 10, 2003
On Friday night Beth picked me up in Matt's pickup truck, Rusty 2.0. She asked me if I was working tomorrow and I said no.

"Would you like to go to Annapolis?" she said.

"Sure!" I said. We've both longed to see St. John's College ever since we've been in Baltimore. For Beth, it was because of The Boy that Got Away. For me, it was because I thought of applying there but never did because I knew they had no money for financial aid. I've never regretted choosing Kenyon over the other college I applied to, but every now and then I'd come across the stuff St. John's sent me and sigh, thinking about how I would know Greek and French and read so many great books there.

So we got out our mass transit maps and found out that we could get to Annapolis from our house by riding a bus to the light rail, and then getting on another bus when we got off the train. And it would all be covered by a $3.50 day pass. Everyone complains about the public transportation here, but for a woman from the country, it's amazing. And we made all of our connections without waiting, except for 10 minutes for the train back.

Everything went perfectly. Annapolis was so beautiful and historical. And everywhere we went there were hot guys. There are the shaggy haired intellectual ones from St. John's and the good postured athletic Navy ones at USNA. The one I liked the best was at the coffeeshop we stopped at. He was sitting at a little table doing mathematical equations, completely engrossed. Suddenly he stopped, shook his head, and said "No!" and went back to working.

We toured the statehouse, where of course there were more hot guys in our tour group, this time Scottish. The Maryland state legislature only meets for 90 days by law. If on the 90th day they still have business to do, they stop the clocks at 11:59 and keep working through the night until they've finished everything.

We were both a little apprehensive about seeing St. John's on the bus to Annapolis, because Beth was afraid she'd run into TBTGA, even though he graduated in May, but his girlfriend still goes there. And I was afraid that I would completely love it and curse myself for not bankrupting myself to go there. But neither of those things happened. St. John's seems postcard stamp small to me, and their Great Hall has nothing on Kenyon's. I realized from looking at their reading list that I read a great deal of it at Kenyon, especially the "fun" ones (i.e., the novels). So I may never get around to Euclid, but I'm okay with that.

The Navy chapel was closed so I didn't get to see the crypt of John Paul Jones, but that's okay. We're definitely going to come back another day. These are the days I love being here. I love having adventures with my housemates, and I feel like next year will be quite dreary without them.

5:39 p.m.
prev :: next