Philothea
Life in the JVC

Animal tales

March 08, 2005

Barb and I went out for a ride with our friend Tim in the Little Rockies. Man, I wish our car had four wheel drive. We're so limited around here without it. We were talking about mountain lions, and Tim said he had an interaction with one a few months ago. He was out hunting with two other guys, and he and Jerry go separated from Paul, who had the car, and night was falling. So they were trying to make their way back to the road so he could find them. There was snow on the ground, and they didn't realize that they were walking over a creek, which they promptly fell into up to their waists. That's when the mountain lion started tracking them. Their guns were frozen from falling in the creek, so all they could do was keep walking on the dark road with the mountain lion following. Luckily in a few minutes a car passed by and startled the mountain lion back into the forest.

We went to White Cow Canyon to the old fire lookout. While we were standing there, another truck came up the road. It was one of my 1st graders, with his little sister and Grandma Charlene. She had run out of things to do with them at home, and brought them out to write their name on the lookout, like everybody does. "I was a little afraid when I saw people up here because I thought you might be drug addicts," she said. I hope once she saw that I was a teacher she knew I wasn't.

When we left, I asked Tim if it was really true that Charlene came to Montana by riding her horse from Texas. "I don't know, but we bought the horse," he said. "It's a good horse for kids, nice and steady." I'd really like to meet this horse, because that is a long journey.

10:08 p.m.
prev :: next