Philothea
Life in the JVC

Abnormal Psych is driving me crazy

2002-10-16
Ah, my first all-nighter ever. There have been times I haven�t got much sleep because of papers, but this was the first time I got no sleep at all. I was writing a 12-page paper Monday night for psych, and I was having a hard time doing it, too. I haven�t taken a psych course since freshman year. My Amy came by and we went to get Krispy Kremes from the library atrium. Amy always turns up when I need her. It�s quite amazing, really. I felt a bit better after that, but I still had no idea how I was going to write so much on panic disorder. I�m so glad I took this class, really, because now I think I have all these disorders.

Then, at 1:30 a.m. two of my classmates came by, wild-eyed, saying that we were supposed to be writing on all four questions for the midterm instead of one like I thought. We decided we were going to all e-mail Dr. Levine to create chaos. I stayed up all night in Gund Commons. Evonne was there writing this midterm too, and it was her birthday. I didn't sleep at all, at all. And yet I still only had 6 pages when he asked for "up to 12 pages" a vague order to be sure, and ready for a loophole, but still, half that amount would probably not please.

I went to breakfast at 7:30 in Gund, and sat with a cool freshman named Russell, who talks trippingly. We were talking about dating, and he said there were only seven girls in his grade, and he had asked six of them out by the time he graduated. �What was wrong with the seventh girl?� I asked.

�Ah, she was the one I really liked.� Ain�t that always the way.

Then, at 9 a.m. on that beautiful crisp morning, Levine sent an e-mail saying he had extended the due date until Thursday. So does this mean my first all-nighter was in vain? Or should I rejoice at the chance to actually get a good grade on this stupid paper? I don�t know when I�ll have time to do it.

I was falling asleep in all my classes, and I stayed up so I could go to bible study at 10. I�d talk, and everyone would look at me oddly because I wasn�t making any sense. I finally fell asleep at midnight, only to be awoken by loud boys visiting someone in my hall an hour later. I was quite rude when I stomped out in the hall. I slept until 1 p.m., missing my meeting with my RA boss Jessica, and I had none of my Latin done. I translated 40 lines of Tacitus in half an hour. I was quite impressed, but I still had 60 lines untranslated, and Serfass was quite disappointed in me. So that was my first all-nighter, and hopefully my last.

9:59 p.m.
prev :: next