Philothea
Life in the JVC

Republicans in the JVC

October 15, 2003
Yesterday I went to Matt's house and we had a good conversation. I like getting his perspective on the JVC since he just finished his year. I've been having so many revelations this year. I always thought that I would devote a year to service after graduation, and why not do a Catholic service organization. But I'm coming to realize that all that I have has been given to me by God, and I am in no way repaying the debt by just one year. And I don't feel guilty for all the benefits I've had, but I feel like other people should have those good things, like a quality education and health care, available to them too.

Matt is a Republican too, so it was good to get his perspective too, since all of my housemates are so liberal. Some people were pretty shocked when I decided to do the Jesuit Volunteer Corps, but I think it fits perfectly within a conservative view. I am private sector, after all. We don't even accept Americorps benefits. But I do think that I will be more moderate after this year, like Matt is. Racism is still a problem in America, and poverty still cycles in generations. There's a lot of things that could be better, but I still have faith in America, and I think that we've done a lot of things right. Some of my housemates seem so angry at Americans, and the only explanation they can come up with people disagreeing with them is that they must be stupid or greedy. And everything in the world is Bush's fault, of course.

It's funny, the impulse I have after some of our social justice discussions is to go out and buy a factory. Because I think that JVC does a good job of assisting people when they're down and out, but all most people really want is a chance, to have a good job and to provide for their family. Michelle agreed. She said her fiance wants to start his own business and they will definitely be hiring former incarcerated people, because now that she's worked with them she knows how hard it is, that they don't even have a choice of leaving a life of crime because no one will hire them for honest work.

5:45 p.m.
prev :: next