Philothea
Life in the JVC

Four months and four months

December 06, 2004

Matthew reminded me yesterday that we've been away from each other now as long as we were together (four months and four months). I think that our relationship has only gotten stronger in the interval. He's such a wonderful letter writer, much better than I am. I still sometimes get a goofy grin on my face when I think about him sometimes. He's really the perfect guy for me, and I can't wait until I see him in two weeks and my family gets to meet him.

He's just completely wonderful. I love him so much, I want to be with him forever. Of course I went to Montana, and next year if I go to library grad school I won't be in Baltimore either, since there aren't any programs there. But someday we'll be together again, and I think we can stick it out until then.

Here's something I don't get: there's no fluoride in the water here, so we the kids get fluoride treatments in school, but still a lot of them have silver teeth where their teeth have rotted out. But Sr. Helen sells candy to the children every day, as well as having a soda machine. It takes an hour out of her day and is sending the completely wrong message to them, I think. She sells the candy cheaply so they have a better option than the one store in town. Hey, when I was a kid I wanted candy all the time too (still do). But I don't remember my school encouraging me in it.

Donna got two new girls in the last two days, which puts her over the top to have the largest class in school (16). And 11 of them are boys, so its nice that her new ones are girls. For a town where no new people ever come, people sure move around a lot, being passed from mother to grandmother, or more rarely the father.

11:07 p.m.
prev :: next