Philothea
Life in the JVC

15 page oblivion

December 10, 2002
Whew, I think that was the longest English paper I�ve ever had to write. I want to thank everybody who left such kind notes in my guestbook. I just got back from a hall meeting. I�m going to have three double-singles in a row next semester. That�s either going to be very good or very bad. They�re the rooms right next to me, too.

When I was coming home at 5 in the morning on Monday, it was still, dark and cold out. I saw a man standing behind some trees near Lewis. When I got nearer, he moved one tree closer, but then he just stopped and looked at me. It was starting to worry me.

�Hello, mysterious stranger lurking in the trees!� I said. Which is probably not the best thing to say, and I wouldn�t do it if I didn�t live in a village. He said hello back and it turned out to be the freshman with the startlingly blue eyes from my stained glass workshop. He kept talking to me, but I of course just wanted to get to bed. I think it�s so amusing when freshman boys flirt with me. Especially at the beginning of the year, I always wonder if they think I�m a freshman since I live in the freshman quad, or if they know I�m an RA and flirt with me so I�ll like them more and won�t write them up if the need ever arises.

My old roommate Courtney resigned from her position as CA of Mather last week. She�s going to live in Watson next semester. Frankly, I was surprised she took the position in the first place. It�s an insult to give Mather to a senior, plus it�s just not a very nice place to live. All my friends lived there last year, and Upperclass Wellness isn�t a bad place to be, but the rest of the building is taken up with leftover freshmen and sophomores who don�t want to be there, so it�s usually rather dingy. But James is getting a single there next semester, to be closer to me and to the main campus. A single is a single, my friends, no matter how small.

5:15 p.m.
prev :: next