Philothea
Life in the JVC

1,2,3 punch

September 22, 2003
Chris hugged me today and said he was sorry he was so mad at me on Saturday, he was just worried. I knew that. I mean, there's nothing more for me to say but I'm sorry I caused such worry for my housemates.

This week our "simplicity challenge" is going to be not buying any food. Which works out well because we only have $90 left in our food fund for the month. We've been spending fairly sensibly. We get a quart of farmer's market milk and organic eggs which is more expensive, but Chris really believes in organic food and I respect that. It's just that we only have $420 food money for the month for six people. We bought a bunch of canned goods for the hurricane, so we're not going to starve. We're just not going to have milk by tomorrow, and Emily and I used the last of the butter last night to make chocolate-chip cookies. I think we won't have bread soon too, so those who don't get lunch at work (yeah access to the D** Miller kitchen!) will have to eat tuna out of a can or something.

So today was a one, two, three punch with my loved ones. I got two letters in the mail today. One was from Mom, and she included a drawing Emerald did at daycare, which was so adorable. I also got my first letter from James, and it was so sweet and romantic it made me all giddy.

Then later on a package came for Michelle. Then the postal carrier came again with a package for me. It was from Amy. She sent me some treats, a postcard "from P.F. to Perry" and this big ol' card signed by all my friends still at Kenyon. She even got Mr. Lentz and Professor Bennett to sign it. Then, in which I imagine her saying in her driest voice, Amy wrote "All the signatures are genuine" (see this entry for an explanation). I feel so homesick for Farmington, South Korea, and Gambier, but in a good way, knowing that people there love me so much.

9:02 p.m.
prev :: next