Philothea
Life in the JVC

For I will consider my Cat Jeoffry/For he is the servant of the Living God duly and daily serving him.

2002-06-09
I sat under the stained glass window of St. Agnes in church today. She had a lamb with her, because her name sounded like agnus, the Latin for lamb.

That reminds me of an occurance in my independant study. Dr. Shutt is the favorite professor of many people at Kenyon, so we were often interrupted during our meetings. Not that I minded, because I love being distracted. Once someone came in and we started to talk about how many poets were mad. Shutt told us about Christopher Smart, who was locked away for prayed loudly in the streets. Samuel Johnson said "His infirmities were not noxious to society. He insisted on people praying with him; and I'd as lief pray with Kit Smart as any one else".

Then Shutt grabbed up the Norton Anthology and read us an excerpt from Smart's poem Jubilate Agno, or "Rejoice in the Lamb". It's a wonderful poem, about how his cat Jeoffry worships God.

That was a great time. My year in review was rather morose, so I thought I'd add a few happier memories from this year.

3:52 p.m.
prev :: next